Day 14

image

The morning of my second day on Maggie was spent on a horse. Thus started off with the stable finding this mahoosive beast of a horse for me, then me not having any control over it and ending up wedged in a corner as that was were the most grass was for it to eat.  Luckily we had western saddles,  and mine had a horn,  so I could put the reins over that rather than having to out-muscke the horse to keep its head up. Then it was on to a bush trek, which included a bit of trotting, and ends up at the beach. Once at the beach, we stripped down to swimming gear, put on stinger suits, unsaddled the horses and rode into the sea.  It is incredibly difficult to keep your balance while riding bareback and being bombarded with waves, albeit tiny wavesm especially when it’s only the 4th time I’d been on a horse.  That did make me the most experienced rider though.  On the ride back to the ranch there were a few more opportunities to trot, however the lady riding behind me had no control over her horse at all and ended up cantering, which my horse decided looked like more fun and followed. I don’t think you normally learn to canter in hour 4 of riding!

After the horse riding, I had a poke around in Horseshoe Bay,  the biggest beach on the island, then went back to Arcadia for the night markets and a dinner of Indonesian food and ice cream.

About 5arahlouise

I'm studying (read: adventuring) in Sydney for a year, so I thought I had better start a blog to keep track of what I see/do/explore/try while I'm here. Enjoy.

Leave a comment